Print this article
World Boxing Federation Champions Of The Past: Irma Sanchez
                                            Bookmark and Share


FEATURE   Photo: Former World Boxing Federation (WBF) Womens World Flyweight Champion Irma Sanchez. 

Since the World Boxing Federation was originally founded by American Larry Carrier in 1988, many of the sport’s biggest names have won a WBF title, and proudly defended the blue, red and gold belt all over the world.

In the Champions Of The Past Series we take a closer look at some of the boxers who held WBF titles in years gone by, from lesser known champions to world renowned fighters, legends of the sport and current or future Hall of Famers.


Former WBF Womens World Flyweight Champion Irma “La Guerita” Sanchez from Guadalajara in Mexico turned professional in August of 2006, fighting as a Super Featherweight.

Only eighteen at the time (Born December 6, 1987), she got off to a successful start, but a year later she had already lost twice (6-2) and it was clear she needed to move down in weight to maximize her potential.

So she did, and at Super Flyweight she managed to win something called the “Mundo Hispano Intercontinental” title, defeating Magaly Avalos (2-2) on points, in a rematch on May 2, 2008.

Avalos had been the first to beat Sanchez, almost exactly a year earlier, and she showed considerable improvements as she won convincingly over the ten round distance.

A technical draw against Susana Vasquez (4-2) in a fight for the Mexican national title, and a landslide unanimous decision over Lucida Avalos (0-7) to capture the WBC International belt, followed.

On December 6, 2008, Sanchez scored her first real impressive victory when she beat Panamanian Chanttall Martinez (7-2) by unanimous decision, in the headlining bout of a show in Zapopan.

After losing her first two outings, Martinez had won seven straight fights, and would go on to win and make three defenses of the WBA World Super Bantamweight title.

After a victory over former Mexican Champion Sandra Hernandez (2-4) in April of 2009, Sanchez was picked to vie for the Interim WBC World Flyweight title against compatriot Mariana Juarez (19-5-3) the following June.

Now 13-2-1 (2), Sanchez did well and was competitive throughout, but eventually lost a relatively close unanimous decision.

Sanchez rebounded well and won her next five fights, all minor title bouts, beating decent opponent such as Susana Morales (7-6-1), Yesenia Castrejon (4-2), Kanittha Kokietgym (4-1) and Soledad Macedo (8-4-1).

That streak earned her a second world title-shot, this time against reigning WBC Light Flyweight ruler Naomi Togashi (7-0-1) from Japan, in October of 2010.

Again Sanchez did well, but came up short. Togashi, who had become WBC Champion in only her third fight and was making her fifth defense, won by scores of 97-93, 99-92 and 99-91.

But Sanchez´ time was soon to come, and only three months later she captured the vacant IBF World Light Flyweight title when she out-pointed Katia Gutierrez (11-2).

Unfortunately her first world title-reign would be short, as he lost the title to Jessica Chavez (10-3-2) less than three months on.

But her prime years were yet to come, and on July 23, 2011 she won the vacant WBF World Flyweight title when she scored a rare stoppage over Carlota Santos (5-2-3) from Panama on home turf in Guadalajara.

Sanchez had developed into a fan-favorite, and her world championship fights were fought in front of big crowds and televised throughout Mexico with excellent viewing figures.

Less than three months after winning the WBF World title, she made her first defense against Susana Cruz Perez (9-2), winning widely on points.

Cruz Perez would make a name for herself in 2014 when she beat undefeated Anna Sophie Da Costa for the WBF World Strawweight title in France.

Further successful WBF world title-defenses over Waranya Yoohanngoh (7-6), Sharon Gaines (11-13-1) and American multiple former and future world titlist Carina Moreno (22-4) followed.

Sanchez then decided to move down to Light Flyweight, where she lost again to Jessica Chavez (16-3-2) in a WBC Silver title fight.

Back at Flyweight, but with no world title, she scored victories over Tania Cosme (4-3-2), Katia Gutierrez (18-3) again, and Yesenia Catrejon (15-13) in another rematch, but also suffered a disappointing loss to Jazmin Ortega (1-3-1).

After one low-profile comeback victory she won the Interim WBA World Flyweight title with a split decision over Brenda Ramos (9-5) in October of 2017, but lost clearly on points when she faced the full WBA champion Naoko Fujioka in Japan on September 14. 2018.

At the time of writing, Irma Sanchez has not boxed since losing to Fujioka. If that turns out to be her last bout, she retires with a fine record of 30-8-1 (8), having won three versions of a world title.

Married to Hector Garcia, who has promoted many of her fights, she remains active in the boxing gym and recently ran a marathon. Not yet thirty-two, she is certainly not too old to still fight and do well in the ring.

  Part 70: Moses James
  Part 69: Cornelius Carr
  Part 68: Zolani Marali
  Part 67: Nicky Bentz
  Part 66: James Hare
  Part 65: Anne Sophie Mathis
  Part 64: Earl Butler
  Part 63: Dave Russell
  Part 62: Tony Dodson
  Part 61: Pete Taliaferro
  Part 60: Fredrik Alvarez
  Part 59: Ajose Olusegun
  Part 58: Chevelle Hallback
  Part 57: Evander Holyfield
  Part 56: Peter Culshaw
  Part 55: Rolando Toyogon
  Part 54: Joaquin Velasquez
  Part 53: Steve Molitor
  Part 52: Nadya Hokmi
  Part 51: Bert Cooper
  Part 50: Alfred Kotey
  Part 49: Yosuke Nishijima
  Part 48: Wayne Rigby
  Part 47: Jesus Chong
  Part 46: Renata Szebeledi
  Part 45: Lester Ellis
  Part 44: Patrick Vungbo
  Part 43: Patrick Washington
  Part 42: Ric Siodora
  Part 41: Guy Waters
  Part 40: Natascha Ragosina
  Part 39: Nicky Cook
  Part 38: Fahprakorb Rakkiatgym
  Part 37: Felix Camacho
  Part 36: Homer Gibbins
  Part 35: Joe Bugner
  Part 34: Myriam Lamare
  Part 33: Darrin Morris
  Part 32: Suwito Lagola
  Part 31: Aaron Zarate
  Part 30: Tommy Small
  Part 29: Matthew Charleston
  Part 28: Jane Couch
  Part 27: Fahlan Sakkreerin
  Part 26: Kenny Keene
  Part 25: Yvan Mendy
  Part 24: Ronnie Magramo
  Part 23: Randall Yonker
  Part 22: Holly Holm
  Part 21: Vinnie Curto
  Part 20: Robin Reid
  Part 19: Lionel Butler
  Part 18: Mads Larsen
  Part 17: Ken Sigurani
  Part 16: Orlando Fernandez
  Part 15: Roger Turner
  Part 14: Roy Jones Jr.
  Part 13: Fitz Vanderpool
  Part 12: Steve Roberts
  Part 11: Thulani "Sugarboy" Malinga
  Part 10: Junior Witter
  Part 9: Jimmy Thunder
  Part 8: Juan Lazcano
  Part 7: Jeff Malcolm
  Part 6: Ricky Parkey
  Part 5: Carl Daniels
  Part 4: Angel Manfredy
  Part 3: Samson Dutch Boy Gym
  Part 2: Greg Haugen
  Part 1: Johnny Nelson

| HOME |













Copyright © wbf -  all rights reserved     |     world boxing federation     |     |     webdesign by f.j.e.e.k. 2009     |